Proactive Road Safety Analysis using Video Data

 

On Aug 25, join Dr. Alireza Jafari, Data Scientist & Julie Levy, Project Delivery Manager at Transoft Solutions for a look at how automated surrogate safety analysis can proactively examine road user behaviour to predict collision risk between pedestrians, cyclists and motor vehicles.

The presentation will provide participants with an overview of the challenges cities and engineering firms have using traditional collision studies to evaluate the safety of road users. Newer data collection and analysis technologies are now evolving which blend computer vision and surrogate safety analyses to evaluate road user patterns using pre-recorded video from temporary, fixed and drone cameras as well as continuously in near real-time.

Client case studies will be discussed to provide context on how both city transportation engineers and engineering consultants are using this technology to identify real issues affecting road safety and gaining immediate insights to measure the safety performance of road treatments.

Key learning objectives:

  • Challenges with traditional road safety evaluation techniques
  • Introduction to automated surrogate road safety
  • Considerations for implementing video-based road safety techniques
  • Benefits of augmenting road safety studies with near-miss analysis and other surrogate indicators
  • Applications for video-based road safety analysis in Europe, Australia and North America

Who should attend:

  • Transportation Engineers & Planners
  • Road Safety Professionals
  • Traffic Safety Engineers
  • Smart City, Complete Streets and Vision Zero/Towards Zero Program Managers
  • ITS and Emerging Mobility Professionals
Webinar Info
Presented By
Dr. Alireza Jafari, Data Scientist Product Manager & Julie Levy, Project Delivery Manager
Date
25-08-2021
Time
9AM HKT / 11AM AEST / 13PM NZST